Colombia signs UNASUR democracy clause

Posted on Mar 22 2014 - 6:17pm by Rico
Ricardo Lozano (L) and RIcardo Patiño (Photo: UNASUR)

Colombia became the 10th country to ratify a clause allowing exclusion from South American union UNASUR, announced Ecuador’s foreign minister who said that with the signing the “democracy clause” had come in effect.The ratification of nine member states was required for the rule to come into force.

Countries that ratified UNASUR’s “Democratic Clause”

  • Guyana
  • Peru
  • Chile
  • Argentina
  • Venezuela
  • Suriname
  • Ecuador
  • Bolivia
  • Uruguay
  • Colombia

Countries that have not yet ratified UNASUR’s “Democratic Clause”

  • Paraguay
  • Brazil

“This is a special, symbolic and emblematic for this regional body ever going reaffirming the institutional and political strength now,” proclaimed Patiño.

UNASUR seeks increased political integration of South American nations.

MORE: South American nations to cooperate in fight against crime: UNASUR

“Democracy is one of the fundamental pillars to sustain our economic and social development in South America, the spirit of the Protocol ratified Colombia essential principles such as representative democracy, the principle of non-intervention and the constitutional order. For our country’s regional integration is not only a purpose but is a constitutional mandate and reiterate the commitment of Colombia with UNASUR,” affirmed the Colombian ambassador to UNASUR, Ricardo Lozano.

After the democratic clause had taken effect, the bloc announced that “any country that suffers an interruption to its democratic order will be automatically excluded from UNASUR.”

UNASUR was founded in 2008 and incorporated previously existing regional unions like MercoSur and the Andean Community.


The post Colombia signs UNASUR democracy clause appeared first on Colombia News | Colombia Reports.