Visas dropped for Colombians to Europe’s Schengen Area

Posted on Feb 27 2014 - 2:23pm by Rico
(Photo: A3 Tours)

The European Parliament on Thursday abolished Schengen visa requirements for Colombian citizens by a landslide vote, allowing nationals freer entry into 26 European countries.

The visa waiver was approved in the European Parliament by 523 votes to 41, granting Colombian citizens visa-free access to Europe’s Schengen area countries for the first time since 2001. The Europe Schnegen area was the result of an agreement to abolish internal border checks.

This formal ratification of the political agreement made on February 4 by the European Parliament, Council and Commission will benefit both Colombian and Peruvian nationals.

MOREColombians to have EU visa waiver before April: Ambassador to Spain

The European Union (EU) countries implied are Germany, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Estonia, Finland, France, Sweden, Czech Republic, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal and Greece.

The exemption also includes four  countries that are not members of the EU; Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein.

Proceedings began to drop the short-term visas requirements for Colombia citizens — which had been in place since 2001 — when Spanish Prime Minister Mariano Rajoy submitted the request for exemption to the European Commission in August 2013.

MORE: Spain Prime Minister: “No EU Visa for Colombians”


The post Visas dropped for Colombians to Europe’s Schengen Area appeared first on Colombia News | Colombia Reports.