(Photo: Commons)

Eleven countries from the European Union opposed a measure on Wednesday that would drop visa requirements for Colombia, stalling efforts to move the proposal through committee.

Led by Germany and Sweden, the countries said the proposal, which would extend open travel capabilities to both Colombian and Peruvian citizens, would raise internal security concerns, according to Radio Caracol.

The other countries in opposition to the change were: Austria, Denmark, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Holand, Finland, and Belgium.

Votes in favor were: Portugal, Poland, Luxemburg, Romania, Greece, Italy, France, Cyprus, Malta, Hungary, and Slovenia.

The committee will return to debate the subject next week, but the stall may make a decision impossible before 2014, dampening expectations that a decision could be reached by the start of next year.

MORE: Colombians could see European visa restrictions removed by January: Congressman

Colombia has an active free trade agreement with the European Union, but presently, Colombian citizens must go through an extensive visa process before being able to travel within Europe.

The bill’s strongest supporters have previously expressed confidents that it has the votes to pass a general assembly, but did indicate that problems could arrise in committee.


Once paises europeos oponen a ingreso de colombianos sin visa (Caracol Radio)

The post 11 EU countries oppose dropping visa restrictions for Colombians appeared first on Colombia News | Colombia Reports.